The real top 10 players?

By mrcane

Here is a set of rankings that further illustrates the importance of the SB. I gave everything point values, which in 5×5 roto leagues is difficult because who’s to say one category is more important than the other. From a 15 team league I was in last year the category leaders were as follows: 

.284 BA 274 HR 1096 RS 1035 RBI 179 SB

With 13 players on the roster offensive I found the league would need 195 hitters so I found averages in the following categories to be:

.294  19.5  76.7  74.3  12.6   (Benchmark numbers)

Then I took a player 2008 stats and divided it by the benchmark numbers. This gave me a percent of change. I figure to keep all the numbers positive so if a player fell below the benchmark it would just count less, none count ed negatively. After I find the percent of change per category I total my percentages and multiply it be 20 allowing the middle player to fall somewhere around 100. Here is the top 10 players …

J. Reyes

 

173.2728

G. Sizemore

 

162.9574

H. Ramirez

 

160.5074

W. Taveras

 

149.724

C. Beltran

 

147.0903

J. Ellsbury

 

145.849

M. Holliday

 

143.5109

D. Wright

 

141.5651

J. Rollins

 

140.4278

A. Rodriguez

 

139.8572

M. Kemp

 

138.4529

 

I will exclude Willy T. just out of common sense. This is just an indicator of how valuable a stolen base really becomes in fantasy baseball.  We wouldn’t take everything we see as gospel, but it does make you view numbers through a different set of lenses.

3 Comments

Filed under Draft Position

3 responses to “The real top 10 players?

  1. I think those numbers make one appreciate Sizemore more for the great player he is.

    Stolen bases are the first thing to go on a player. Suddenly, they can’t run anymore. There’s something about stealing bases that deteriorates more quickly than power numbers.

    The legs tire before the bat.

  2. tallkid1

    I like what you did here but to account for the negative benchmark you may be better off creating an index instead. Basically you compare stats to the benchmark as a percentage and then multiply by 100. So if the average hit 19.4HR and Dustin Pedroia hit 17HR then his index is an 87.6 index for HR (17/19.4 x 100). The closer a player is to 100 the more average he is, the further above he is means he’s that much better than average and the lower that much worse. If you then create an average index across the five cats then you’ll find the most valuable players and least valuable as well. Just a thought based on geeky advertising formulas that I have to use.

    With that said, your formula points out exactly what I hate about 5×5 – crediting equal points to very unequal categories. The fact that Willy Tavares, I guy who scored 64R, had 1HR, 26RBI and a .308 OBP ends up on the list truly proves the point.

  3. mrcane

    After taking into consideration what tallkid1 said I decided that I indeed wanted to use some sort of “punishment” for those who fail to produce in a category or in some cases hurt your fantasy team. What I did was I went and found the averages in all 5 categories for the top 200 hitters last year. I based my top 200 hitters on # of hits. Then I found the standard deviation within the categories to find out how a players stats compares to the average in the category. Using percent of change similar to what I had previously done I just adjusted the benchmark by adding on the standard deviation to reward players who truely excelled in a category. These are the results….

    Top 15 Hitters based on last years stats…
    J. Reyes 110.44
    G. Sizemore 105.58
    H. Ramirez 105.52
    C. Beltran 95.33
    D. Wright 94.15
    R. Howard 90.84
    M. Holliday 89.78
    A. Rodriguez 89.62
    L. Berkman 88.30
    A. Pujols 85.68
    C. Utley 84.31
    N. McLouth 83.52
    R. Braun 81.54
    J. Hamilton 81.18
    J. Ellsbury 80.23
    M. Ramirez 80.01

    Where a guy like Ryan Howard excels is he is so far ahead of everyone else in RBI and HR that it more than makes up for his lack of SB and AVG. Doing it like this also evened out the basestealers.
    I have changed my mind on Howard.

Leave a Reply

