Johan Santana – Injury – Elbow/Triceps

By nichols33

For those of you preparing for your upcoming drafts & auctions, you may want to knock Johan Santana of the Mets down your lists.  What started out as what appeared to be a cautionary move, there is now talk that Santana may miss the Mets’ opener on April 6th.

Johan talked with reporters today and revealed that he is questionable for his first regular season start.

FANTASY BASEBALL ADVICEPrior to this news I had Santana listed as the #1 SP in most leagues. Now I would list Lincecum and Sabathia ahead of him until further news. If not for the news on Webb’s forearm I would have moved him ahead of Johan as well.

If Santana only misses a start or two that should have no impact on his value but he’s already missed two spring starts and is coming off knee surgery. Most mock drafts I’ve done or seen he’s gone late in the 1st round, early 2nd. Not sure if that is a wise move until he throws in a game with no complications.

My Current Top 5 SPs:

  1. Tim Lincecum
  2. C.C. Sabathia
  3. Johan Santana
  4. Brandon Webb
  5. Roy Halladay
2 Comments

Filed under Injuries

2 responses to “Johan Santana – Injury – Elbow/Triceps

  1. tallkid1

    Triceps are way too close to the elbow, that’s pretty scary stuff. You definetly have to move Johan down a few notches down and I agree with your top 5 but I still got my boy CC at #1. I also have Hamels and Haren solidifying the top 7 and it gets interesting after that (since I jumped off the Peavy bandwagon after a few years of that crap).

  2. notebookguy

    I too will be bumping Johan down my draft board slightly for now, but the longer it goes, the more he falls. Right now I run: CC, Lincecum, Halladay, Johan, Webb, Hamels, and Haren. I did have Johan 1 by a long shot before the elbow trouble, so I’ve dropped him 3 spots currently. As a side note, Webb’s getting into that boat with Johan, scratched with a forearm from his start… Not good news so far for a couple of big time aces early in spring training.

Leave a Reply

